A Different Beginning

Today I finally started a book I have been grappling with mentally for over a year. It’s a new experience for me because this is the first time I ever set out an outline before writing a single word. I had the first idea over a year ago. I made an outline back then. But I wasn’t happy with the starting place and I hadn’t really mulled the ideas around in my head enough yet. I knew months ago that I wanted to write this book next. But I only buckled down and did the prep work the last few weeks. Not only did I outline this book, I planned out the whole series (3-5 books). Usually I write a few chapters before I do the background work. But this time I even sketched out a dozen characters. I think the planning will pay off. When I finally got an hour to write, I put down the first six hundred words. I’m so excited!

Leave a Reply

