Epiphany Trumps Methodology

Last summer I reached a point where I was ready to start a new book. I blogged about considering several options, including sequels and a couple of book ideas I want to write. After discussion with friends and brainstorming ideas, I decided on Deus Ex Machina. I wrote five chapters, and re-worked them several times. I made a strong outline for book one and roughed out a trilogy with a five book series potential. I’m still really excited about that project.

Then something happened. I contracted my first book, Theocracide, with Curiosity Quills Press. Naturally a book contract took precidence. So I worked through two rounds of edits on my novel (so far). In between, I had three other book manuscripts requested by several other publishers, which needed attention. (Two are still under consideration at the time of this posting… fingers crossed!) I also found homes for some of my short stories and have others under consideration… cross more fingers, and toes.) So it has been months since I sat down to do any new writing. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining. I enjoy re-writes, and I don’t hate the buisness part of the process. However, the core joy of writing is the creative process. I’ve missed it, and looked forward to getting back to it.

I came to Deus Ex Machina through my “method.” My creative process usually employs a methodology in the selection of what I write next. I look at the needs of the time. If I have an anthology I want to write a short story for, I work within that frame, obviously. However, most of the stories go thruogh my brain tumbler. I collect ideas and they bounce around inside my head, colliding with each other when compatible and repelling each other when not. Eventually some ideas fuse into something awesome and rise above the idea fray. That’s how they are chosen. That’s how I arrived at Deus Ex Machine.

I was hoping to get all my ducks in a row so I could join NaNoWriMo next month. I had a plan, an outline, characters sketched, and the critical beginning re-worked. I was ready to just plow through and knock out my 50,000 words. Ah, the best laid plans.

But my book publisher and one of my short story publishers both have a new batch of rewrites coming to me in the next week. I think I could work around that and still have a good shot at NaNoWriMo.

Then I had an epiphany. Sometimes a single idea hits the brain tumbler and knocks it off the axles. I love that moment! Even better are the hours soon after, world building (setting) and desiging a plot. The character for the story came with the idea and the whole thing just overpowered all sense of order and methodology. I simply have to write this book. And I have to write it next.

I don’t have a working title yet, just a theme– PoS. (Plan of Salvation, what were you thinking?) And just like that Deus Ex Machina goes on the back burner. When inspiration strikes, epiphany trumps methodology

One thought on “Epiphany Trumps Methodology

  1. I actually had the same thing happen to me! My plan for NaNo was to work on the third book in my series. And then inspiration struck at a Neil Gaiman storytelling event (another’s story, not his) and now book three is on the back-burner while I shop around book one and write this completely new book that has nothing to do with my series at all. Glad it happened though because it has helped me to really view myself as a writer and not just some girl with only one story that I want to tell. =D

    And on a completely different note: Happy to be a darkling minion now and can’t wait for you to cast your spells on my pitch package (even more so than you already have–the help has been much appreciated!).

Leave a Reply

