Un-comma-n Recursion

Pit & Pendulum

When I was young, I used a LOT of commas. I remember a time when one of my teachers told me more than half of them should be periods or omitted. Then the pendulum swung back the other way. By high school and through college I stopped using them altogether. Well, now one of the most common editing notes I get is, “You really don’t like commas, do you?” So I’m trying to put more commas in.

It’s not my fault. Such examples on the chalk board as: Let’s eat Grandma. See what happens when you omit commas? made the entire issue extremely upsetting to me. Still, it’s time to own it. I’m going to get the right number of commas before the axe swings back.

Leave a Reply

