NaNoEmo

For the second year in a row, I couldn’t participate in NaNoWriMo. NaNoWriMo is a contraction of NAtional NOvel WRIting MOnth. Authors try to write 50,000 words in one month, essentially writing a novel. Although I’ve tried several times, the only time I succeeded was in 2012, when I wrote most of the first draft for Salvation.

Last year in November, I spent rewriting and editing the Salvation manuscript from the year before. This year I had rewriting and editing for Actuator 2: Return of the Saboteur, and Sometimes I’m a Monster. The former should be out in 2015. The later I’m preparing for submission. Something I never realized as a hopeful author, before being published, is how much work a book is after getting contracted by a publisher. It’s more work after than before (especially counting marketing and promotion).

So I’m creating my own term: NaNoEmo. For me, November is often NAtional NOvel Editing MOnth. Plus, it sounds all angsty. Having worked through two huge editing projects, I’m declaring a NaNoEmo win. Once I get some other peripherals out of the way, I’ll have time to get back to writing.

For those of you who succeeded at NaNoWriMo, Here’s hoping you can join me next year for NaNoEmo! 🙂

Leave a Reply

