Author Interview: Sharon Bayliss

Sharon is one of my favorite book friends. We both signed with CQ about the same time and we’ve been on the road together (virtually) ever since. I like her first book so much I put an allusion to it in Actuator 2: Return of the Saboteur (coming out soon). So, for the launch of the second book in her December People series, Watch Me Burn, I gave her some deep questions to test her great wisdom. Here’s what she said…

1) Do you think authors should stick to writing what they know or write what they love?

You should write what you love! That’s where the passion lies. Besides, if you love something, you won’t mind doing the research needed to “know” it too. I don’t believe that love is blind. Love is all about truly knowing something and loving it as it is.

2) What does magic in a book tell us about the author? What does it tell us about the readers?

I think people who read and write magic are the coolest people. 🙂 It means we see the world with imagination and whimsy. We don’t like being bound by the limits and rules of the world around us. It also means we long to connect to a world beyond what we can see.

3) If you knew your next book would FOR SURE be read by ten million readers, what message would you put in it?

Well, wouldn’t that be nice. I am confident with my work, so I wouldn’t do anything differently if I was guaranteed a wide audience. I’d love to give those ten million people Destruction. I don’t have a “message,” I want to send. I just want my readers to love my characters and care about them as much as I do. And I want them to be entertained! Despite the serious themes in some of my books, I consider myself to be an artist and an entertainer, not a teacher or philosiphiser.

4) Why do you think social classes or social groups play such a big part in your books? Are they part of nature, a necessary evil, or just evil?

Social classes and groups are a great way to generate interesting conflict, which is probably why they play a big part in my books. 🙂 Gotta have conflict. Also, I am a social worker by trade and have learned all about how social groups play a part in our lives and shape who we are and our world. As for nature, necessary evil, or just evil, I say “all of the above.” People will always be different, and that’s okay. It’s great, in fact. And society will always need different types of people. For example, there always has to be someone to clean the toilets and haul garbage. Different wealth and status levels are natural and okay as long as all classes are treated with respect and have the basic requirements needed for a good life (food, healthcare, safety, etc.).

Watch Me Burn

I love the covers for this series!

Overview:
David Vandergraff lost his home, his job, and contact with his oldest son, but remains determined to be a good husband and father despite being a dark winter wizard.

His resolve is tested when a flyer for a missing girl–who happens to be a summer witch–begins to haunt him. David believes a spell needs to use him to save her, so he follows the magic’s command and looks into her disappearance. His teenage daughter Emmy resents him for caring so much about a random stranger. But when she uncovers some disturbing evidence close to home, she begins an investigation of her own.

David and Emmy quickly learn that the mystery is not only about a missing girl they barely know, but a deeply personal story that impacts everyone they care about. As their world crumbles, they fear the warning may be true—never mess with summer wizards, because the good guys always win.

Get Watch Me Burn now!

Or check out my post on Destruction (December People, Book 1) and Sharon’s website.

Leave a Reply

