Grounding Myself

I am grounded. I must ground myself because I was bad.

Here’s the thing I’ve learned about me recently: when I am writing more, I think less. Thinking is sometimes bad, because it leads to more writing. So, if I’m writing a lot, I don’t really think about new things to write. The problem comes when I don’t have time to write much, because I starting thinking about things I want to write. Then I want to write them and my list of works-in-progress begins to grow like rabbits on an island without predators.

At this moment, I’m about 25% of the way through two novels (Actuator 3 and Thug #1). I put Actuator 3 on hold because I obtained clearance to do the second collection of short stories in that series: The Actuator 2.5: Armageddon Chronicles. I’m really excited for it!

By the way, in case I didn’t announce it anywhere else, I have a release date for The Actuator 2: Return of the Saboteur. It should be out on July 20!

So, in the midst of editing this anthology, I talked with Steven L. Peck about a story he published called A Short Stay in Hell. It’s very deep. We talked about other “hells” and decided to put together a short story collection of different hells along the same line. So now I’m editing two anthologies.

Oh, and I’m in the middle of a multi-author book project called Choose Your Own Apocalypse. Jason King and Holli Anderson are joining me for an experiment based on the game by the same name.

And, just to be goofy, I decided to work on another game: Shroud RPG. On top of all that, I need to write a short story for CQ’s next anthology. I just solidified the idea for something high tech involving a ninja.

So, if you count them, I’m in the middle of SEVEN writing projects. Yay!

And that will be most of the rest of this year. So I’m grounded. Until I get these done, I’m not allowed to talk about any other writing projects. If you see me brainstorming, pontificating, or talking about new ideas, please smack me and remind my I’m grounded. Thanks! 🙂

CYOA Cover

One thought on “Grounding Myself

  1. You aren’t the only one here who’s in this sphere. All the rules of writing have never the individual writer…we are who we are.

Leave a Reply

