Book Review: Death by Cliche by Bob Defendi

Death by Cliche cover

The first time I encountered this book, I listened to the audiobook. I laughed SO MUCH! Now I’ve read it, and it still cracks me up. Bob Defendi is some kind of genius. That must flow from his extensive writing, game designing, and gaming background.

My review: Dragged into an awful alternate fantasy reality by the hack DM who tried to murder him, Damico has to try and manipulate the real world through the tritely constructed game dimension. Defendi is a masterful writer, making you love characters you knew were one-dimensional just moments before and keeping the reader on the hook to the very end. Oh, and did I mention it’s funny?

Trust me, GET IT NOW! (Also, if you check his blog, I appear occasionally… most of it’s not true. Well… some of it’s exaggerated.)

Leave a Reply

